Fire Safe Council – Board/General Meeting

Santa Barbara County Fire Safe Council Board Meeting (9:00 am – 11:00 am)

Join the virtual meeting HERE

We are excited to have Dr. Stephen Quarles joining us to give a presentation titled “Wildfire and the Built Environment: Vulnerabilities and Mitigation Strategies”.

Dr. Stephen Quarles is a University of California Cooperative Extension Advisor Emeritus. After 26 years with the University of California, Quarles retired in 2011, and joined the Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety (IBHS) Research Center team in Richburg, SC. Quarles retired from IBHS in 2018 as the Chief Scientist for Wildfire and Durability. At both the University of California and IBHS Quarles’ research and outreach efforts focused on durability and in-service performance issues of buildings subjected to wildfire exposures. During 2007 and 2008, Steve worked half-time for the California Office of the State Fire Marshal where he developed, coordinated and served as an instructor for the educational program related to the Wildland Urban Interface (wildfire) Building Code and Standards (Chapter 7A in the California Building Code). Quarles served on the initial WUI Task Group that made recommendations to the Office of the State Fire Marshal for Chapter 7A and has served on subsequent task groups.

Quarles is a member of the American Society of Testing and Materials (and is Chair of ASTM E05.14 Subcommittee on Exterior Fire), the National Fire Protection Association [and former member of the NFPA Technical Committee on Forest and Rural Fire Protection (2013-2018)] , the International Association of Wildfire Fire, the International Association of Fire Safety Science, the Forest Products Society [and former Editor-in-Chief, Forest Products Journal (2010-2017)], the Society of Wood Science and Technology, the American Wood Protection Association and the Association of Fire Ecology. Quarles earned a bachelor’s degree from Virginia Tech (Blacksburg) and a Master’s and Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis-St. Paul).

Click HERE for the meeting agenda.